Pakapau/Pad Krapao

Pad Krapao

Still raining heavily in Terengganu, Paka to be exact. I guess the condition is worst compare to last year as road to Dungun and Kuantan is always on the verge to flood. Hopefully the weather will improve next week, as I really miss shiny Mr. Sun. This cold weather and 30 weeks pregnancy makes me hungrier than ever. Frequent snacking is my main activities currently but a difficult appetite to meet as I seem to be craving different types of food each day. It is hardly to find the things I desire here in Terengganu so the only solution to that is to cook it myself. I like savory food while most of the food here is a bit sweet.
I watched Jalan-Jalan Cari Makan last weekend, they introduce a place called Sup Urat Keting at Bandar Baru Bangi. Most of the ingredients that they prepare are using urat keting (cow’s tendon). I am not that fan of this internal organ but what got my attention is the Pakapau/Pad Krapao Fried Rice. This dish is originally from Thailand made from ground beef marinated with Thailand basil leaves. I used dry basil leaves as I can’t find the fresh one.

Ingredients:

200 grams of ground beef
1 teaspoon of dry basil
1 teaspoon of turmeric powder
2 shallots
2 garlic cloves
Carrot
Leeks
1 teaspoon oyster sauce
1 teaspoon chilies sauce
1 teaspoon sweet soy sauce (the darker the better)
3 bird eye chilies
Salt to taste

Step by Step:

1. Marinate the ground beef with dry basil+turmeric powder+salt for around 10-20 minutes.
2. Heat up a little bit of oil, and then add the finely cut shallots and garlic. Fry it just for a short while. Then add the marinate ground beef. Important to keep stir the beef to break off the ground beef.
3. When the ground beef already half cook, add in the oyster sauce+chilies sauce and chilies sauce. Then add in the bird eye chilies and finely cut carrots and leeks. Cook for about another 2-5 minutes. Ready to be serve with white rice/fried rice and sunny side-up egg.

Leave a Reply

