Steam Grouper Chinese Style ( Kerapu Steam + Ginger)

Last weekend, I had a craving for zingy+hot+refreshing dish. End up I decided to make Steam Grouper with ginger for dinner. It is easy and a healthy one too. This is my first time cooking this; I had watched few times my aunt Cik De preparing this dish for wedding formal meal (makan beradab). She will handle makan beradab dish everytime our family have wedding occasion; from the food to the table setting. So I did a little bit surfing and consult my colleagues on it and Walla! I came up with below recipe. The taste was superb and this dish needs to be served while hot.

IMG_0837

Ingredients:

500g grouper fish
1 1/2 inch of ginger
5 garlic cloves
1 lemongrass
1tbs of oyster sauce
5 pcs of asam boi/ sour slices
1 lime
Leeks for garnishing
Salt to taste

Step by Step>>

1. Prepare your steamer; it takes a bit of time for the water to boil so start early.
2. Clean the fish with tamarind to remove the smell. Finely slice ginger, garlic, and lemon grass.
2. Rub the fish with salt and oyster sauce. Place it in pyrex. Sprinkle finely slice ginger, garlic, and lemongrass on it. Add a little bit of water according to your liking. Add the asam boi and place the fish into steamer. Cook it about 15-20 minutes.
3. When the fish is almost done, squeeze lime juice onto the fish. Serve it while hot with steaming white rice. Enjoy!

Leave a comment